In the Setup section of Flowingly you'll find Users as the first tab.
Introduction
There are multiple different methods of adding new users to Flowingly, alongside a number of key fields for each user which serve key purposes.
Prerequisites
Only users assigned the Business Administrator role can access the Users tab within Setup to add or edit users.
SSO or AD Sync are paid add-ons and will need to be implemented to utilise those methods of adding users.
Instructions
Adding Users
Manual
This option is best used when SSO is not enabled within a Flowingly environment as users invited via this method will receive an email to set a password, which with SSO is not necessary.
To invite a user manually, simply click on the “Invite Users” button in the top right corner of the Users Tab to open the pop-up menu.
In the pop-up menu enter the following items for each user:
First Name
Last Name
Email
By default, there will be space to add 3 users however more can be added by clicking the “Add another user” button
Once all the users have been added, click “Invite Users” and an email will be sent to each individual to set their password and gain access. This will be sent from Notifications@Flowingly.net
Until a password has been set the status will be set to “invited”, once this has been set the status will update to “Active”
Bulk Import (SSO)
Using the Bulk Import option will allow for users to be added using a CSV template. This is our recommended option if SSO has been enabled on your environment however, this method also applies to those without SSO.
Clicking the “Bulk Invite” button will open a pop-up menu containing a downloadable CSV template alongside some additional instructions.
Download the template from the link provided and update each column:
First Name
Last Name
Email
Manager Email — This will automatically assign the manager field
Connection Type
For SSO users ensure that “SSO” is entered in the Connection Type column to automatically set users as Active. This can be left blank or set as “flowingly” for sites without SSO so the email to set the users password is triggered.
Once all users have been added to the template, save and reupload in the CSV into Bulk Invite menu. If any errors occur the rows where the errors exist will be listed in the Bulk Invite menu.
AD Sync
AD Sync is only available as a paid add on, allowing for users to be automatically provisioned and synced between your Active Directory and Flowingly. The following items can be synced:
User Profile
Email
Display name - first & last name
Job title
Phone number
Manager
Department
Role(s)
Team
Editing Users
Profile
Edit a user by clicking on the pencil icon in the Users tab of Setup, this will bring up the menu to adjust each field.
Each field within a user’s profile can be updated manually, including:
First Name
Last Name
Email
Phone Number (optional)
Job Title (optional)
Manager — Important for automation
Roles — Will determine access level, multiple can be applied
Invite User — To resend the email to set a password
Teams
Within the Teams tab of each user’s profile you can quickly assign or unassign them to various Teams that have been added into your Flowingly environment.
Use the “+” icon on the left-hand menu to add the user to a Team and remove them from any Teams by selecting the “-” icon on the right-hand menu.
Delegation
When a user goes on leave you can utilise the Delegation feature to ensure that any workflow steps or publish approvals can be actioned by other users. Toggle this option to select the users who will be assigned these tasks during their absence.
Depending on your licensing, certain options seen below may not be available, but select the relevant individuals to replace the user being put on delegation and save to continue.
When the user returns, delegation will be removed once they log into Flowingly again or alternatively this can be disabled within the same menu by a Business Administrator.
Delete a user
To remove or delete a user from Flowingly click the trash can icon next to the user
Once selected, confirm deletion of the user. Depending on what the user is assigned to in Flowingly there could be any of the following options available to reassign:
Reassign Actor - Select another user or team to reassign active step to, to ensure in-progress & published flows continue to run
Reassign User in Custom Database - Select another user to replace the to-be deleted user in a Custom Database
Reassign Category Publisher - Select another user to replace the to-be deleted user as a Category Publisher
Reassign User's Step Tasks - The to-be deleted user is actively involved in a step task
Reassign Manager - Select a user to replace the to-be deleted user as another user's manager
Tips & Best Practice
When a new user is added via Manual Invitation and Bulk Import they will be automatically assigned the Workflow User Role. Additional roles can be assigned once the user profile has been created. If AD Sync has been implemented the roles can be assigned automatically.






